About Sending Your Kids to College

An article in Huff Post today about what it it would take to afford a college education for your children.

I Might Not Send My Kids to College

By Sarah Stewart Holland

Recently, I was at dinner with a group of friends, several of whom were mothers. As is often the case, the conversation had turned to the education system. We were discussing testing and home schooling and teachers, when another friend — who does not yet have children — asked me a question that caught me off-guard:

“Let me ask you a question. Will you tell your children they have to go to college?”

My response surprised me almost as much as the question. I told her five, even two years ago, I would have said “absolutely.” I wouldn’t have hesitated. Yet, here I was hesitating and giving a different answer.

“I don’t know.”

First and foremost, I worry I will not be able to afford it. I recently used an online calculator to determine how much my husband and I need to be saving in order to pay for our children’s college education.

$612 a month for Griffin. $607 for Amos.

I’m sorry. I need to save $1,100 A MONTH to send my children to college almost 20 years from now?!? That is insanity.

Read the Whole story here

And my comment below.

The assumption I see in the comments is that college will promise the same benefits that it has always promised. The world is changing. My son is a self learner in a school where self determination and self governance is encouraged. He is already keying in on what he wants to do in life, and taking the steps to become accomplished in that field. College may or may not be necessary to that end. We should be retaliating against these institutions that take enormous sums of money, but offer no promise. All of this academic coercion makes my skin crawl. We need to encourage the youth to recreate their own reality and not depend on an antiquated viewpoint of what is the right path in life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 867 other followers