In my haste to get this blog going, I went to the first site on my list. Unfortunately, I set it up at a more commercial venue. The page seemed to lend itself to being more of a social network, rather than a straight out blog. As I investigated further, I found that the socialGo.com site lacked certain features that I found important for this site. One being that a list of links and authors should be listed in a column somewhere on the page.

I have been reading Ariana Huffington’s book on Blogging and it has been very helpful. I have already understood some of the pitfalls of this type of forum, but I am confident that within time, I will overcome the obstacles involved in taking on a project like this. I am also aware that not having been a regular writer ( Iam an artist and graphic designer by profession, and musician by hobby) that practice and discipline is what is needed to develop any endeavor.

I hope that within time we can move this forward and maintain the focus of this blog which is Education. Specifically Alternative Education and the particular version of that which is embodied by Brooklyn Free School as well as our associate schools such as Albany Free School, Harriet Tubman High School, Terry McArdle School, Longview Free School and many of the fine people I met at the recent NADEC gathering in Albany. I hope that all of you will join me here as we attempt to intiate lively discussion, share events and ideas for how how to mount the next conference, and in general learn how to grow our schools.

Lastly, in my links section, is a link to the BFS New Building Site which lays out the school’s plan to purchase its own building. If you can please donate. Any amount is welcome. No amount too small. This is about helping each other, and this is a grassroots project which has a positve influence on everything we call community.

New Clinton Hill location

New Clinton Hill location

2 Comments on “”

  1. Mira says:

    Looks very interesting. I look forward to reading more.

  2. bzeines says:

    Thanks. I hope to keep this going although I am still working learning to navigate and control this venue. It may be moved one more time but it will stay on wordpress.


Leave a Reply

