Playing Rough

In Praise of Roughhousing

By LISA BELKIN

Go ahead. Throw your children around. It’s good for them, say Anthony T. DeBenedet and Lawrence J. Cohen, the authors of “The Art of Roughhousing: Good Old-Fashioned Horseplay and Why Every Kid Needs It.” You can trust them, because they are doctors. Well, DeBenedet is an M.D., while Cohen has a Ph.D. And in the days before Father’s Day they chatted with me by e-mail about exactly how “rough” the horseplay should get.

Read the whole article here.

This is something I always advocated. My son, when he is a bit bored, says “play rough with me.” This usually involves tackling him, tickling him and the extra creative note of threatening him as if we were in some kind of thriller. When I do it once, he always says “again.” Below is the video that accompanied the article. Keep in mind that these are little kids. My son is almost 11 and he still loves to play rough.

2 Comments on “Playing Rough”

  1. Diane Zeines says:

    I remember when Noah was about five and he wanted to do “rough play with daddy.” I wanted to see what it was so I watched the two of you playing. It was really funny because you were throwing him around and he just kept coming back for more.

  2. Diane Zeines says:

    I also enjoyed the video that they had with the article. It was fun watching all the kids playing with their parents.


Leave a Reply

