Walking Meditation

Walking. It is a nice day for walking. So I exited the subway two stops ahead and walked. Keeping a question with me: What will the universe bring today?

When I pray, I do not pray to God. At least not the being who has come to be referred by that name. I pray to release myself, for a moment, from the fantasies and dreams that rule my life. Walking is just the kind of activity that can be useful for this.

So as I headed down Church Avenue, I let the impulse of the question lead me where ever. As I came to Marlborough Road, the beauty of the street and its magnificent houses, beckoned. So I hung a turn and strolled past some of the most splendid mansions of Victorian Flatbush. But then the dreams invaded and that $540 Million dollar jackpot took over my sense of reality. Hmmmm…which one will I buy?

Some of the beautiful houses I passed this morning

The sound of a distant woodpecker brought me back to reality, and I once again returned to my walking meditation. Everything today looked so bright. And the birds of spring filled the air with their song. When I am fantasizing about lotto winnings, I can no longer hear them.

Then for a long stretch, I entered my moment of zen. Getting closer to the sound of the woodpecker, I struggled to allow no thought to plague this effort. If one is to open to the universe, what would that mean? Wind chimes rang out a soft tune that blended with the air. I am struck by the richness of the environment and made aware of how much I miss when I am immersed in my own turning thoughts. To truly be in touch with a higher force, it must be allowed to enter through the pores as well as the eyes and ears.

Finally reaching home, and feeling a return to the ordinary rhythms, I enter the door of my apartment. There was no clear answer to my query. Only that “life is.’  And that is only true, when I am with “it.”

“Meditation brings wisdom; lack of mediation leaves ignorance. Know well what leads you forward and what hold you back, and choose the path that leads to wisdom.” —Hindu Prince Gautama Siddharta, the founder of Buddhism, 563-483 B.C.

Leave a Reply

