Holiday Diary #3- The Resurrection Will Not Be Televised

Easter. Quiet Sunday. Clean. Clean Clean the house.

Now it is Monday and all these holier than thou messages about the resurrection, Jesus, Easter are coming into our in-boxes, or on our phones. But what does Easter really represent?

For me, the resurrection is a personal one, a worldly one and one that relates to nature. On the natural level, it may refer to the return to daylight. When there is more day than night. On the personal level, it is about how I feel about my own self in relation to the greater world.

The following message came into my wife’s inbox this morning:

A Universal Rule on Decision Making… Don’t make them, S., until it’s time to make them. Unless you already know what you want, in which case, however, there is no decision to be made.

You know,  The Universe

This gave me pause for thought. What occurs to me is that people are beginning to talk about the “universe” in the same way they speak of “god.” In other words, everything gets reduced down to a small notion of what is possible. The bible ascribes attributes to the Lord that are not very pleasant human qualities. He is wrathful and unforgiving. But after he kicks the shit out of you, he still loves you and asks only that you “believe.”

When it comes to bullshit, big-time, major league bullshit, you have to stand in awe of the all-time champion of false promises and exaggerated claims, religion. No contest. No contest. Religion. Religion easily has the greatest bullshit story ever told. Think about it. Religion has actually convinced people that there’s an invisible man living in the sky who watches everything you do, every minute of every day. And the invisible man has a special list of ten things he does not want you to do. And if you do any of these ten things, he has a special place, full of fire and smoke and burning and torture and anguish, where he will send you to live and suffer and burn and choke and scream and cry forever and ever ’til the end of time! But He loves you. He loves you, and He needs money! —George Carlin

When people start attributing rules and human qualities to the universe, then we are getting into the same hot water. This “unknown” is not a Magic Eight Ball. It is something vast, mysterious, and unknowable. It will always evade my ordinary mind and emotions. That is why it is wise to meditate when facing such enormous questions. So as Mr. Universe stated: yes, it is true, there is no decision to be made, but one needs to bear witness to one’s own life, and be vigilant. To be observer as well as a participant. Treat a question as if I do not already have the answer. Because that is truth, and by relinquishing my hold on it, it becomes more available to me. Prayer is not a petition, but a way of becoming a receptacle to a higher force.

After leaving my son with his friend, I took this question with me on my long walk down 7th Avenue, and then onto the subway home. In a sense, my question was so deep, it contained a fragment of the resurrection. I felt renewed. The mystery was there, and I was part of it. And that is what it’s all about.
.

2 Comments on “Holiday Diary #3- The Resurrection Will Not Be Televised”

  1. Hi. This is my first time reading this blog. I followed a link from Ditmas Park Corner because I was interested in learning what the Brooklyn Free School was all about.

    Anyway, this is totally random and obviously I’m a stranger so there is no pressure to respond, but I was reading your Easter post and found it really sad. I am a Christian and so I just wanted to reach out to you.

    One thing that struck me about the post was when you wrote that God is ascribed negative human traits like wrath fullness and unforgivness. The LAST thing God is is wrathfull and unforgiving, or I should say, unlike human wrath and unforgivness, when God does express those attributes it is in full righteousness because He cannot be anything other than righteous since He is Truth and Love.

    Anyway, if you aren’t a Christian this probably reads as complete folly to you. I just wanted to reach out and offer that if you ever want to know more about God and His true feelings for you, I would be more than happy to write or talk with you about Him. He changed my life two and a half years ago and i have never been the same and now i am so enamored with Him i just want to share Him with anyone out there who might be hungry or have an inaccurate understanding of who He is and what He has done for us. He loves you more than you can ever know and I pray that one day you will be able to know, feel, receive and write about that love.

    God bless you in the name of Jesus!

    • bzeines says:

      It is not my wish to destroy or take away your “god.” I do not think that is possible. But on the other hand, I think the point of the article is completely over your head.

      The point I was making here is that in our society, our culture, everything gets reduced down to ordinary terms. Just by the fact that you refer to this holy force as “Him” convinces me that it may not be possible for you to embrace the grand universal connection I am alluding to. A state of presence so deep and vast, that one feels connected to a vision and a force that no bible slapping proselytizer could approach.

      To quote my own article: “Treat a question as if I do not already have the answer. Because that is truth, and by relinquishing my hold on it, it becomes more available to me. Prayer is not a petition, but a way of becoming a receptacle to a higher force (God).”

      In other words, our role here as human beings is to be open to this force. But we have become divided by arcane ideals. And yes, I was not brought up a Christian. What would that matter. The story of Jesus is descended from a great many folk myths that preceded the resurrection by centuries. It may be that this myth is necessary to remind men that in their deep state of sleep, there is something to awaken to. It is said ” To awake, to die and to be reborn is the most essential spiritual question man can ponder. Or better yet “Who am I” which was the core question of the great 20th century sage Ramana Maharshi. If you were helped by a belief in Christ, as you state, I am more than happy for you. But becoming a proselytizer just because you found help is a dark path to delusion.

      My last paragraph concludes my humble thoughts. “After leaving my son with his friend, I took this question with me on my long walk down 7th Avenue, and then onto the subway home. In a sense, my question was so deep, it contained a fragment of the resurrection. I felt renewed. The mystery was there, and I was part of it. And that is what it’s all about.”


Leave a Reply

