I Am a Left Wing Nut

I am not sure if I can add to much about the storm. We came out okay. Got a week’s vacation. Stayed put most of the week. Not much to write home about. Prayed most of that night that my windows would not blow out.

There is another storm to deal with though. That of the presidential election. And I took the liberty of posting a controversial rant on Facebook, put up by a cousin of my wife. He is a black republican, a veteran of Desert Storm and I will share it here:

Since President Obama’s been elected into office, suddenly Many White folk have become angry and want to take America Back… BACK TO WHAT/BACK TO WHERE, is my question?
The idea of a Black Man as the most powerful Man on the earth is unsettling to many. If Obama wasn’t Black, they would be praising and thanking him.
After the 8 Years Of former President Bush/ former Vice President Cheney Disaster, now you’re angry?
You weren’t angry when the Supreme Court stopped a legal recount and appointed a President.
You didn’t become angry when Vice President Cheney allowed energy and other corporation officials to dictate energy policy and push us to invade Iraq .
You weren’t angry when former President Bush and the United States illegally invaded a country that posed no threat to us.
You didn’t become angry when our U.S. government spent over 800 billion (and counting) on said illegal war.
You weren’t angry when former President Bush borrowed more money from foreign sources than the previous 42 Presidents combined.
You didn’t get mad when over 10 billion dollars in cash mysteriously disappeared in Iraq .
You were not angry when former President Bush embraced trade and outsourcing policies that shipped 6 million American jobs out of the country.
You didn’t sound a peep when former President Bush didn’t track down and catch Osama Bin Laden.
You were not angry when former President Bush rang up 10 trillion dollars in combined budget and current account deficits.
You didn’t become angry when you learned of the horrible conditions at for returning veterans at Walter Reed Hospital.
You didn’t say a damn word when former President Bush allowed New Orleans, a major United States City, to drown.
You weren’t angry when former President Bush awarded the wealthy who had more money than they could spend, the actual 1%, over a trillion dollars in tax breaks.
You didn’t get angry with former President Bush had the worst 8 years of job creations in several decades.
You were not angry when over 200,000 US Citizens lost their lives because they had no health insurance.
You didn’t get mad when lack of oversight and regulations from the former President Bush Administration caused US Citizens to lose 12 trillion dollars in investments, retirement, and home values.
You finally became angry when: A Black man was elected President of these United States and decided that all people in America deserved the right to see a doctor if they were sick. Illegal wars, lies, corruption, torture, job losses by the millions, stealing your tax dollars to make the rich richer, and the worst economic disaster since 1929 are all okay with you however, helping fellow Americans who are sick is not?

Of course, not being black, but being married to someone who is, has given me unusual license in expressing my own dissidence. But some of my Facebook friends seemed to get a little bit riled. Here are a few responses.

Typical left wing rascist rant with hate and factually incorrect information. As far as I recall without the white vote Obama would never have been elected. But now that they think he has done a poor job they only think so because he is black? Give me a break. I could counter each one of your claims but they wouldn’t sink in because you are already convinced by the liberal media.

Here is my problem. Had Facebook never been invented, I would no longer have ANY connection to people I left out of my life a long time ago. I grew up in a Queens burg, where many of my white friends were rewarded for their classroom obedience by being placed in what were termed “Special Pupil” classes. This meant that they did good on tests, raised their hands in class, paid attention to the teacher, stayed out of trouble. Their reward was to be put on the fast track to better schools, better paying jobs, better living conditions and humdrum lives working within the structure of modern society. The others, like me, who did not pay attention, let their minds wander to subjects not covered in class. Doodled in our notebooks, talked to our friends during class and in general, grew into a disobedient bunch— in other words, “creative types.”  We were set loose to find our own way. The obstacles for this group were huge. Many of us over came them in time. Many have not. And if you are black and in this group, the obstacles are even greater. And being that Facebook has brought back into my field of consciousness, a hoard of people, whom I would no longer have communication with whatsoever, I now have to accept their comments to my views. So is it wrong that I should dump the above commenter down the digital tubes to oblivion?

Here is another comment from another so called “friend.”

sick and tired of this liberal histeria. Wake up!

My response was to go into my settings and remove these two “friends” from my field of vision. I will no longer see them or even have a passing thought, at least not until this post is finished and published. Then all will be erased from my mind, and I will lie back into my left wing bliss, dreaming of revolutions, and moss covered houses. Calling me a liberal is tantamount to a direct insult. I am not a liberal. I am a left wing nut job.

I do not agree with Obama on many things. In truth, I see him as a true conservative. I think that he has some progressive ideas and he has his heart in the right place. But I do not think he is perfect. On the other hand, I could never accept the talking piece of cardboard that is Mitt Romney. Mr. Romney represents everything I abhor. He is a shill for large corporate interest, and I believe he aims to throw us into the dark ages. Or at the very least, back to the 19th century where children worked in coal mines and there was horse shit in the streets of New York up to our knees.

Education is an area in which I have a huge margin of disagreement with Obama, which I have written about on this blog. There are other areas as well, but I allow for some imperfection. I will not get into that now. Having lived through this recent storm, seeing the devastation around many areas of the city, hearing my friends complain about the loss of power, need for help etc. I am reminded about George W Bush’s response to Katrina. His total abandonment of the people of New Orleans. And I cannot help but feel that a Romney response would not be any different. I believe that on the compassion meter, Mitt falls even lower than Bush/Cheney. And many of us find that hard to imagine.

So call me a left wing nut. I do not mind. I am an artist in a world that no longer has a useful place for a visionary. We have to scratch out our existence. Forge our own place in this society. It was written long ago on a teacher’s blackboard. It was spoken when that kid who questioned, or acted out, was removed from the classroom, rather than making attempts to understand him or her. And now we are coming back at you. We want the tables turned, the playing field equalized. Our visions need to be heard. Because I believe that these are the visions that will save the world. And if you don’t agree with me, that is okay. But if I have to see your angry rants, with their coded racism, on my Facebook page, I will feel free to click you into oblivion. And for the rest of you, get out and vote so that we will not have to endure 4 years of having a used car salesman deciding personal, national and international policy. Lets put Mr. Romney in hole so deep, we cannot hear him scream.

Leave a Reply

