After the Storms

There is so much fallout information regarding Hurricane Sandy, as well as the post election news bits,  that it feels hard to process. So I am going to use this space to do just that. Send me the bill later.

I am not sure if it is lost on anyone, but all the reports about gas lines, power outages etc., that somewhere in all this we might see something positive emerging. Does it strike anybody that we have a serious energy policy issue?

Yesterday, I was told that one of our clients, a large NYC Hospital had lost power last week. They had patients in the ICU as high up as the 14th floor. Serious cases had to be evacuated to other hospitals. How do you get patients down from the 14th floor, with many in serious condition and no elevator? I was told, they slide them down the same way you would if someone is injured on a mountain. But this is not what disturbs me. It is the fact that the back up generators failed.

Now I have always been assured by the idea that if there was a national emergency, that our hospitals, and most vital institutions have back up power. And now I am told that they failed! So could this be the wake up call that at the very least, hospitals and other emergency responders, would have some kind of sustainable energy source that would not be affected by a storm? I am only asking.

And all those Mitt Romney supporters waiting on gas lines—you think maybe we should lobby for cars that run on alternative and sustainable power? I have friends, whose livelihoods depend on their cars reportedly having to wait on lines for 9-13 hours. So now, only after we have wide spread impact from a major storm will we finally start clamoring for the electric car. And hopefully one that could be recharged by solar. Or buildings that have self contained energy generation.

This farmer had only one horse, and one day the horse ran away. The neighbors came to condole over his terrible loss. The farmer said, “What makes you think it is so terrible?” A month later, the horse came home–this time bringing with her two beautiful wild horses. The neighbors became excited at the farmer’s good fortune. Such lovely strong horses! The farmer said, “What makes you think this is good fortune?” The farmer’s son was thrown from one of the wild horses and broke his leg. All the neighbors were very distressed. Such bad luck! The farmer said, “What makes you think it is bad?” A war came, and every able-bodied man was conscripted and sent into battle. Only the farmer’s son, because he had a broken leg, remained. The neighbors congratulated the farmer. “What makes you think this is good?” said the farmer.

On another topic, I was struck by the footage of Karl Rove refusing to call Ohio. People might think that he was being obstinate. I don’t think so. I think Karl was downright scared. Karl Rove was given command of $300M to help win this election. Karl has reportedly received millions in fees to help get this done. If you are a fan of The Sopranos, you might empathize with the position Mr. Rove now finds himself in. “Hey Paulie. Take Karl up to see the new country place.” And you know what happens next. Poor Karl gets a bullet in the head, strangled or something like that and then he is chopped up and dissolved in hydrochloric acid and never heard from again.

Joking aside, can you imagine the meeting where he has to stand in front of these guys and tell them where their millions went. If only to be a fly on the wall. Campaign finance reform anyone?!

This election has raised some serious questions for me. I have been trying to understand the many conflicts that have arisen in face of this very divisive election. Some of my Facebook posts can explain it:

So here is my question: if basically half the country were willing to go along with the talking cardboard cutout, Mitt R, then what is their wish for America? What is it that they want? How do they see life as we get into the 21st century? Do they want to go back? Are they afraid? Are they stuck? Because in all the back and forth on this that I have heard or read, I have not gotten one solid argument as to why you would elect a shill like Romney to decide your fate. It baffles me, and I think we have a huge problem in our country that will not be solved by this election.

And here are a few responses.

CG: I think our problem is the distribution of wealth – and the accompanying greed and control of most mainstream media in the hands of a wealthy few. People are bombarded with lies, and when you’re bombarded, some believe those lies.

LS: Romney did not run on a vision for America, hence your question and the inevitable result at the polls.

BZ: It is a serious question to ponder. I believe CG makes a good point in regards to the media. It is a mentally and emotionally polluting influence. And it is hard to avoid media, even if you do not watch television (like us.) The marketing alone is a constant bombardment. When my wife and I were away for a week this summer, our motel room had a standard cable TV. I found myself sitting there like a Zombie with remote in hand and channel surfing through all the crap that was coming at me. So much reality programming (if this is reality, I do not want to see any more of it.) This is why I prefer to watch movies when I want to. At least the internet gives me some control over what crap I choose to ingest. Orwell had it backwards. It was not the TV watching us that would be the means of state control. It is the masses watching it. And if you are tuned into Fox News all the time, then you are even more of a psychological prisoner. It is all there to get you to feed the giant marketing machine. To “them” you serve no other purpose.

SD: I don’t watch TV very much, either, but I got FOX for free awhile back when I signed up for other channel packages and I’m sure my jaw was on the floor whenever I tuned in. How can people think that Fox News is a legitimate news organization? I think that when people view/read any type of media, they need to take it with a large grain of salt!

Another post I put up referred to having watched Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Slayer.

After watching Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Slayer the other night, I am now convinced it is based on fact. 48.1% of the country are Zombies. So I propose a sequal—Barack Obama: Zombie Killer!! 

It is good to have fun with this. I am not sure if Romney were elected, we would be having any fun. But I truly want to understand why anybody can see Mitt as a serious statesman. My perception of him is that his ONLY desire was to win so that he could get a ride on the lead float in the parade and wave to us with that shit eating grin. That grin that hides so many lies, and you just know the guy is going to steal something from you at any moment. Or try to ridicule you because you are not as rich as he is. Why would so many people cast a vote for a guy whose only desire in life was to be the Rose Bowl Queen.

Notice that I have the Devil riding in the front of the float. Yes, Mitt walks with the devil.

Things will not be easy going forward. With 48% of the electorate still onboard with the white guy, you have to wonder where we are as a nation. I saw an image today that had the red states side by side with an 1859 map of the USA showing the slave states compared to segregation and our current red/blue state map we have been seeing so muchof .

And with Glenn Beck hitting the airwaves with his fear mongering, we will have to be vigilant. I stopped the video because I find him nauseating. But the fact is he is out there, and his voice is heard by many. Many who believe in this nonsense. The guy always denies he is a Nazi, but he repeatedly uses their tactics.

Based on my first paragraphs, America HAS to progress. We need new energy policy, infrastructure rebuilding, a new green economy that can reclaim the nation. We need not go back to some illusory ideal of the 50’s/60’s. We have real issues, and those helping to introduce healthy alternatives to improve our life, helping us live in what is becoming an increasing hostile environment to consumerism. We need to turn away from consumption and turn toward creativity. The Civil War mentality needs to die, fade away. And this can only happen if we struggle to understand the need of the whole. That is my prayer for today.

Oh, and F**k You Glenn Beck!

2 Comments on “After the Storms”

  1. dianezee says:

    Shouldn’t Glenn Beck be arrested for inciting riots?

    • bzeines says:

      He sadly is covered by free speech. But I ask people to look closely at his tactics. They ring of Nazi broadcasts.

      What I do think should happen is that a federal probe into the Koch brothers be started. They have the potential of being terrorists. I am afraid they may resort to even darker methods to serve their agenda and I think they should be investigated deeply. They should be tried for treason and have their wealth absconded. They have actively used their money to bring down the presidency. Is that not a treasonous act against the people of the United States?


Leave a Reply

