Jessika’s House

After a long layoff, I got to spend a day at school. Fortunately, I have been busy, and have not had the time to do this. Also, the school has found a kind of groove, and I did not feel as needed. But somehow I might be wrong.

So today, I planted myself down in the art room, and just let things unfold. I first had the opportunity to work with the youngest and newest BFS students. Truth is, I do not teach anything. I am just there, doing what I do. Drawing my drawing. Kids come over and have a look, and then dash off to find paper and pencils and begin working around me.

As I have learned in the past, a school like this has waves. So after about 40 minutes a different age group came wandering in. Mostly girls whom I was more familiar with. This whole cycle lasted about 2 and a half hours when it was finally time for lunch.

Throughout this whole process, Jessika, a very talented young artist, was meticulously working away at her house, which she has been working on for weeks. I had promised her that at some point, I would take pictures, as she was planning to sell it by Christmas. She helped to raise money last year for the school with another house. This one was even better. So I share with you the work of Brooklyn Free School student, who pends a great deal of her time, pursuing her passion.

Jessica working

Jessika working

View of the front

View of the front

Dining Room

Dining Room

Downstairs room

Downstairs room

Blue Room

Blue Room

Pink Room

The bathroom

Picture Frames

Picture Frames

View from back window

View from back window



Leave a comment